English County Championship returns to two-division format | Cricket News


LONDON: The English County Championship will revert to a two-division structure starting next season after two campaigns hit by the coronavirus, the England and Wales Cricket Board announced Thursday.
the Bob Willis Trophy was introduced in 2020 and a three-group structure was used for this year’s top-class competition.

Next year, 10 teams will play in division one and eight teams in division two, with a promotion and relegation system of two up and two down.
Each county will be placed in the division in which they would have been established to compete had the 2020 County Championship been held.
Lancashire, Northamptonshire and Gloucestershire earned promotion to Division One and Nottinghamshire they were relegated to Division Two.
The return to two divisions, with each team playing 14 games, was voted for by the first-class counties.
First Division: Essex, Gloucestershire, Hampshire, Kent, Lancashire, Northamptonshire, Somerset, Surrey, Warwickshire, Yorkshire
Second Division: Derbyshire, Durham, Glamorgan, Leicestershire, Middlesex, Nottinghamshire, Sussex, Worcestershire

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here