Eoin Morgan, Virat Kohli target T20 World Cup title legacy | Cricket News


DUBAI: Five years after losing a heart World Cup T20 end to the West Indies, Eoin Morgan‘s England start as narrow favorites in their bid to become double world champion despite the absence of Ben Stokes.
Not far away, however, they are virat KohliIndia, the ever-lethal West Indies, and World Trials Champion New Zealand, not to mention South Africa, Australia, former winners Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, and fairy tale outsiders Afghanistan.
Postponed and moved twice due to the pandemic, the seventh edition of the tournament begins on October 17 with Oman, joint host with the United Arab Emirates, facing Papua New Guinea in a first qualifying round.
Top nations will join the event, played in stadiums at 70 percent capacity, on October 23 with Australia and South Africa playing the first match of the Super 12 stage and England against the champions West Indies.
England, ranked the world’s number one nation in Cricket T20 World number one, he beat New Zealand to win the 50+ title at Lord’s in 2019 and victory in the shortest format main event will further cement his dominance of the white ball.

Morgan’s team, however, will not feature Stokes and Jofra Archer, who played a key role in their one-day World Cup triumph, but Vice Captain Jos Buttler insists the team is “without a doubt one of the favorite teams”.
“I know we miss Ben and Jofra, who are two superstars of the game, but I still look at that list and see some real match winners on our side.”
England had to defend 19 runs in the last over of the 2016 final at Eden Gardens in Kolkata, but Carlos Brathwaite beat Stokes for four six in a row, giving the Caribbeans their second T20 world title.
Many of that winning team will return, led by Kieron Pollard and old warhorses Dwayne Bravo, 38, and Chris Gayle, 42.
Asian giants India will begin their campaign against arch rival Pakistan on October 24 with Kohli looking to come out strong before stepping down as captain of the T20 team after the tournament.

Kohli will look to repeat India’s triumph in the inaugural tournament in 2007 with then-skipper MS Dhoni joining the team as a mentor.
Swashbuckling starter Rohit Sharma is widely regarded as Kohli’s successor and will be key to the team’s chances alongside Yorker king Jasprit Bumrah.
KL Rahul, meanwhile, achieved the most sixes (30) in the Indian Premier League, which concludes just before the T20 World Cup and which has allowed many stars to get used to the United Arab Emirates plots.
Glenn Maxwell, for example, scored 513 runs, including six half centuries in the world’s most popular race. Cricket league, a performance that will boost Australia’s hopes of an inaugural T20 title.
Australian white ball captain Aaron Finch said he and David Warner will lead the batting despite his southpaw teammate being knocked down twice by Sunrisers Hyderabad in the IPL.

Trans-Tasman’s neighbors New Zealand, led by Kane Williamson, will also be eyeing two consecutive world crowns after they won the inaugural Test Championship, beating India in the final in June.
“We’re in a tough group, I really think there are six or seven teams that could win this tournament and I think that’s good for world cricket too,” Kiwi coach Gary Stead said.
New Zealand joins India, Pakistan and Afghanistan in Group 1. England, Australia, South Africa and the West Indies make up Group 2.
South Africa and former champions Pakistan remain favorites, while Sri Lanka and Bangladesh must battle with partner nations to join the heavyweights in the Super 12.
A few weeks after the Taliban took over the country, the dream winners would be outsiders from Afghanistan, all of whose players are abroad.

His South African coach, Lance Klusener, recently boasted the “best spinning attack in the world” of his team, consisting of Rashid Khan, Mujeeb Ur Rahman and Mohammad Nabi.
The tournament was originally intended to take place in Australia in late 2020, but was canceled due to the pandemic.
It was then scheduled to happen in India and eventually moved to the Gulf, but with India’s cricket table, BCCI, they are still the host.
The matches will take place at four venues: Dubai International Stadium, Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi, Sharjah Stadium and Oman Cricket Academy Ground, with the final scheduled for Dubai on November 14. .

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here