OBCs, women, youth: Details of PM Modi’s new ‘rainbow’ Cabinet | India News


NEW DELHI: Up to 43 leaders were sworn in as ministers Wednesday in the new and expanded Union Cabinet headed by Prime Minister Narendra Modi.
The 43 ministers who were sworn in today include seven incumbent ministers who have been elevated, as well as 36 new members.

The major reform, the first since Prime Minister Modi took office for the second term in 2019, was carried out with a view to providing due representation to various groups, including CBOs, women and state leaders with strong administrative experience.
The main government sources defined the new Union Cabinet as a “rainbow council” that highlights the vitality and color in the communities and regions of India, representing the aspirations of 130 crore of Indians.

Sources said the expansion focused on representing all sectors of society. The revamped cabinet includes women leaders, backward class leaders, young faces, and professionals. Leaders from various states have also been adequately represented in the renewed cabinet.
Here’s a quick look at the new Union Cabinet:
OBC, Dalit footprint
* The cabinet has a record of 27 ministers of other backward castes, of which five will be of cabinet rank. The ministers represent various castes, including Yadav, Gurjar, Jat, Thakor, Lodh, etc.
* The Cabinet also has up to 12 ministers belonging to the Scheduled castes. The 12 ministers represent various Dalit communities such as Chamar-Ramdassia, Khatik, Pasi, Kori, Madiga, Mahar, Arundathiyar, Meghwal, Rajbonshi, Matua-Namashudra, Dhangar, Dusadh.
* It will also have eight ministers belonging to the Scheduled tribes, from states such as Arunachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Chhattisgarh, West Bengal, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Odisha, Assam and representing communities such as Gond, Santal, Miji, Munda, Tea tribe, Kokana and Sonowal-Kachari
* Two SC and two ST The ministers will be of cabinet rank, the sources said.
Minorities and other communities
* The Cabinet will also have minority representation such as Sikhs and Muslims. Three minority leaders will have Cabinet rank.
* Up to 29 ministers belong to other communities such as Brahmin, Kshatriya, Baniya, Bhumihar, Kayasth, Lingayat, Khatri, Kadva and Leuva Patel, Maratha, Reddy.
Representation of women
* The new Cabinet has 11 female ministers from nine different states.
* Two of them have Cabinet rank.
Mix of young and old
* The Cabinet has a strong mix of young leaders and those with experience.
* The Cabinet has several young people with an average age now of 58 years compared to 61 in the outgoing Cabinet.
* Up to 14 ministers are under the age of 50, including six who will be cabinet ministers.
* The Cabinet also has several experienced administrators and legislators.
* Up to 46 leaders have previously served as ministers in the central government.
* Four former chief ministers are also part of the new cabinet. Up to 18 have served as ministers in various state governments and 39 are former MLAs.
* The Cabinet also includes leaders with professional experience.
* It has 13 lawyers, six doctors, five engineers and seven officials. Seven new ministers have PhDs, three have MBA degrees.
* In total, 68 ministers have graduate degrees.
Pan-India representation
* The cabinet now includes ministers from 25 states and Union territories.
* Even within states, ministers represent several different regions.
* The Cabinet also has new faces from West Bengal, the state where the BJP made significant strides in recent assembly elections.
* Up to five ministers belong to four northeastern Assam states, Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur and Tripura.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here